List of Compositions

Orchestra/Large Ensemble

Tear of the Clouds (2022) 1011-0000-4221

Arrow of Time (2016) sinfonietta

Ripple Effect (2013) sinfonietta; (2015) full orchestra

Terra Firma (2011) jazz ensemble

Daydreams (2010) wind ensemble

Undercurrent (2010) sinfonietta

Sunrise From a Distant Past (2007) full orchestra

Concerto for Orchestra (2006) full orchestra

Seaching the Constellations (2006) full orchestra

Chamber, Solo & Duo

Koholā Sings (2021) solo harp

A Melody From an Unknown Place (2020) solo violin

Adaptation Variations (2019) fl, cl, hn, percussion, vln, vla, vc

Wavelengths (2019) fl, cl, vln, vc

But Beautiful (2018) koto and cello

Faded Aura (2017) shakuhachi, fl, cl, vln, vc

American Postcards: Picture Brides (Hawaii 1908-1924) (2017) string quartet (doubling on ukulele)

Sunburnt (2017) bassoon or saxophone quartet

Snapshots (2017) alto saxophone and bassoon

Reenactment (2017) gayageum and electronics

Crosscurrents (2016) shamisen and violin

Doublethink (2015) saxophone quartet

Iridescence (2015) solo piano

To A Balloon Laden with Knowledge (2015) SSAATTBB Choir

Conversations in the Garden (2015) viola, guitar, piano, sound installation

City of Imagination (2015) erhu, dizi, yangqin, sheng, pipa, guzheng

Taepyeongga (2014) ajaeng, ob. guit. pno. perc.

Of the Moon (2014) shakuhachi and koto

The Distance of the Moon (2014) shakuhachi, koto, and string quartet

Vanishing Act (2013-14) vln, piano, perc.

Secret Dimension (2013) cl, vln, vc, piano

A Glimpse of a Reflection (2013) guzheng and electronics

Trade Winds (2012) flute and piano

Across the Open Sky (2012) 2 violins, cello

Neon Flicker (2012) duo

Piano Trio (2012) violin, cello, piano

Palpitations (2011) alto saxophone solo

Afterimage (2011) cello solo

Parallel Divergence (2011) fl., b. cl., vln., vc., piano

Soliloquy (2010) piano solo

Intermezzo (2010) piano solo

Variations on a Theme by Brahms (2010) ob., c.a., cl., vln., vc.

Stargazing (2010) violin and electronics

Echolocation (2009) saxophone quartet

Event Horizon (2009) string quartet

Impromptu (2008) violin and piano

Automata (2008) piano solo

Sarcasms (2008) alto saxophone and piano

Toccata (2007) violin and piano

Delights and Shadows (2007) bass voice and piano

Recurrency (2007) cello octet

Imprints (2006) 2 pianos

Pins and Needles (2006) fl., cl., vln., vla., vc., piano

Sounds and Shapes (2004) fl., cl., vln., vc., piano, percussion


Concerto for String Quartet and Orchestra (2005)

for string quartet and orchestra (3222-4231, timp, 2 perc, strings)

duration: 12 minutes


Performers: New York Youth Symphony; Shanghai Quartet; Paul Haas, conductor

Score Excerpt: PDF

Purchase: contact me

Performance History

April 17, 2012: Czortet Quartet; Silesian Philharmonic Orchestra, Jacek Kraszewski, conductor.  Pszczyńska 6, Katowice-Giszowiec, Katowice, Poland

February 12, 2010: Stanford Symphony Orchestra, St. Lawrence Quartet (soloists); Jindong Cai, conductor. Dinkelspiel Auditorium, Stanford University, Palo Alto, CA

November 2, 2008: Albany Symphony, Chimeng Quartet (soloists); David Alan Miller, conductor.  Palace Theater, Albany, NY

May 7, 2006: New York Youth Symphony and Shanghai Quartet (soloists); Paul Haas, conductor.  Colden Auditorium, Flushing, NY

May 21, 2006: New York Youth Symphony and Shanghai Quartet (soloists); Paul Haas, conductor.  Carnegie Hall, New York, NY



Program Notes

During the summer of 2005, when I was asked to compose my Concerto for String Quartet and Orchestra, the biggest hurdle that I had to overcome was simply to try to imagine what a string quartet would sound like in front of an orchestra.  The difficulty was with the novelty of such a combination; it is a rarity, perhaps because of the challenge in maintaining the conversational nature of a string quartet as a chamber music ensemble, while trying to place them in the context of a traditional concerto, in which the soloist stands out as a singularly heroic figure.  In this piece, I tried to create both moments when each member of the quartet is treated as separate soloists and moments when the quartet itself is treated as a single entity.  
The piece can be divided up into three distinctive parts: the first section consists of a short introduction followed by a fast virtuosic music that showcases the quartet; the middle section begins with a separate quartet that emerges out of the orchestra, as they quietly accompany the quartet playing lyrically; the final section recapitulates musical material from the first section but features a more prominent role for the orchestra.  
The work was commissioned by the New York Youth Symphony’s First Music program and premiered by conductor Paul Haas, with the Shanghai Quartet as the soloist at Carnegie Hall in the summer of 2006.